Why I Chose a Different Career Path- My Purpose Story

This is my purpose story

I have always loved learning. I never thought that going to school for 8 years after high school was such a big deal. I love the idea of being the best at what I did and I also love the idea of going all the way with academics.

It wasn’t a proud thing…just a I want to be my best thing

I also believed that God placed this desire in my heart for a reason.

My Passion

I love learning about the human body and how it works but, I also love learning about psychology, the human mind and human behaviors. I also enjoy learning why people make the decisions that they do

Because of this, I was confused about my major for so many years.

You might be thinking “Why didn’t you figure out a way to combine the two”

The thing is, I tried….

I even wanted to become a developmental behavioural pediatrician. A Developmental-behavioral pediatricians evaluate, counsel, and provide treatment for children, adolescents, and their families with a wide range of developmental and behavioral difficulties.

But I had to ask God first and I had to be honest with myself.

There is a difference between loving the idea of something and it being really your passion. I think I just liked the idea of knowing about the human body and how cool it is. But did I enjoy the classes? Did I see myself doing it for years and years?

The thing is years from now, I see myself being a speaker, talking to people about living their dreams and how changing their minds can change their lives tremendously

Do I feel like I need to go to school to do that? No, but at the same time, I want to study something that will be relevant to my future. I want to study something that aligns with what I was created to do.

Let me tell you something….honesty pays.

I was going on a different path, but deep down I had no peace but I didn’t know why. I didn’t know how to be honest with myself. I didn’t know how to ask myself the right questions. I didn’t know how to ask God the right questions? Even when I did ask questions, I was scared that the answers I might get would not fit into society’s mold.

I wasn’t even scared of disappointing myself. It was about other people.

After facing challenges on the different path that I wanted to take for about a week, I just went through the motions of life. Until it hit me that I was mourning the loss of a dream that I had wanted badly.

It wasn’t God’s dream, it was my dream.

That day because I was sick and tired of going through the motions, I grabbed my journal and pen and fell to the floor. I made a list of the things that I truly enjoyed, I didn’t think about society. It was just God and I.

And I wrote down:

Listening,

Writing,

Encouraging and

Speaking (such as public speaking and motivational speaking)

I decided to put them in order. I wanted to focus on my top strengths and I just wrote down

  1. Speaking
  2. Writing.

I had never put my strengths in order before.

After this, I decided to look into a career that I felt would fit my strengths and my personality. I was led my God and He led me to the field of psychology.

In Fall 2017, I will be starting a doctoral program in counseling psychology.

My path to purpose might be different from yours. But, I want you to know that you can’t afford to miss your purpose.

I currently work in a mental health field. I am also taking master level courses in counseling and psychological services. I believe that I am following God’s plan for my life.

I want you to know that God has something great and incredible in store for you. You are not too young or too old to start living a life of purpose.

All you have to do is decide to choose God’s will above all else.

If you need help on your journey to living a purposeful life, please email me at funmiwrites@gmail.com

God has your back.
Love
Funmi

Your Purpose Coach

2 comments

  1. Great post !!! I was not as in depth as you when I chose my doctoral program and I think that led to a lot of frustration for me during grad school. Thankfully , the Internet makes it possible for anyway to craft a career for themselves so I am taking that route. Congrats!!🎉

    Like

    1. Thank you for taking the time out to comment. I like seeing you do your thing online. That’s really great! I am glad that I got this opportunity. Thanks so much!

      Like

Thanks for Commenting!

